Reforming Doctoral Education in Armenia in Line with Needs of Academia, Industry and Current EU practices (ARMDOCT)

Project number 



36 months (2020-2023)





966.177 €  
Applicant (Coordinator)


Eurasia International University (EIU)  – Armenia

Arevik Ohanyan: 

AM partners French University in Armenia (UFAR), Zaruhi Soghomonyan –

Armenian State Pedagogic University after Kh. Abovyan (ASPU)

Yerevan State Medical University (YSMU)

Vanadzor State University after H.Tumanyan (VSU)

Yerevan Brusov State University of Languages and Social Sciences (YSULSS)

Yerevan State University (YSU), Yeranuhi Manukyan

National Polytechnic University of Armenia (NPUA), Sargis Asatryants

Institute for Informatics and Automation Problems of the National Academy of Sciences of the Republic of Armenia (IIAP NAS RA)

National Academy of Sciences of the Republic of Armenia (NAS RA)

Ministry of Education and Science of the Republic of Armenia (MoES)


EU partners





Universidade Catolica Portuguesa – Portugal

Universita degli Studi di Teramo – Italy

Universite Lyon III Jean Moulin – France

Vilniaus Universitetas – Lithuania


Project Summary

The ARMDOCT project addresses an urgent need in Reforming Doctoral Education (DE) in Armenia in line with the Salzburg Principles with the emphasis on policy, legal framework (including by-laws) and institutional procedures supporting integrative and internationally-oriented doctoral studies involving universities, research institutions and industry.
The action foresees:

  • strengthening strategic, infrastructural & human capacities in Higher Education Institutions (HEIs) and Institutes of the National Academy of Sciences (SRIs), Ministry of Education and Science of Armenia (MESA);
  • development of national new policy and legal framework, including by-laws for doctoral education in Armenia and further approval by national Ministry for pilot implementation;
  • revision of institutional policies, procedures based on the redesigned national regulatory framework and design of the Institutional Handbook for Doctoral Education;
  • establishment and operationalization of 5 Doctoral Schools creating synergies between HEIs, SRIs and industry;

The action is complemented by extensive dissemination & networking activities. The partnership of 15 members comprises 4 EU higher eduction institutions (HEIs), 8 HEIs and 2 SRIs from Armenia and the Ministry of Education and Science of Armenia. Expected impact on the international and national levels is seen as contribution to the reform and modernization of Doctoral Education in line with the Salzburg principles enabling better integration to the European Higher Education and European Research Areas. The precise and clear institutional procedures and guidelines of DE will improve the transparency and accountability of the institutions. The involvement of the Ministry ensures project impact on policy level and provides modernisation at national development strategies.